Thank Atheism for Sunday Mornings

by

Normally on weekends I just go about my routine: cleaning, reading, writing, playing computer games, getting together with family on most Saturdays, with friends every Sunday, and lounging around with Emily as much as I can manage. I don’t generally think “what if.”

But today I am acutely conscious of the fact that if I was still laboring under the belief that church was some sort of mandatory and necessary part of life, I would be wasting 1/7th of all of my mornings reading the same book over and over instead of exploring new books. I would have 3 or 4 hours of my day barred from getting things done around the house, and on Sunday evenings I would probably be too socially exhausted from dealing with people I don’t necessarily like- but who happen to share the same religious views and live near the same church- to consider having a gathering with people I genuinely love being around.

So, I just want to express- not really gratitude, because who to?- but relief that I have my Sunday mornings to do what I like with, that I can consider my actions in light of how they affect other people without the muddying up of considering how they might affect a theoretical man in the sky, and that I have more time to read and write and get things done.

Leave a Reply

